Quick Links

All-Ireland Senior Colleges Title 2003

St. Kieran's College 1-15


St. Coleman’s Fermoy 1-4

26-April-2003, Clonmel

James Connolly

(Ballyhale Shamrocks)

Donncha Cody

(James Stephens)

John Tennyson


Neal Prendergast


Patrick Butler

(James Stephens)

David Prendergast


John Walsh


James Fitzpatrick (capt)

(Ballyhale Shamrocks) (0-4)

Darren O’Neill

(Barrow Rangers) (0-2)

John Murphy

(Clara) (0-1)

Eamonn O’Gorman

(Emeralds) (0-1)

Richie Power

(Carrickshock) (0-4)

Maurice Nolan

(O’Loughlin Gaels)

Eoin Reid

(Ballyhale Shamrocks) (1-0)

Michael Bergin

(Clara) (0-2)

Subs: Damien Bergin (Ballacolla) (for Murphy) Kevin Lanigan (Tipperary) (for Nolan) James O’Farrell (Carrickshock) (for Butler) Shane Prendergast (Clara) (for Power) Jamie Quane (James Stephens) (for Bergin)

Match Report:

Saint Kieran’s exorcised the ghosts from the All Ireland of 2002 with an awesome performance over Coleman’s in Clonmel.  Kieran’s  rang the changes before the game, switching John Tennyson to full back to cancel out the threat of Limerick senior hurler Andrew O’Shughnessy.

Cancelling each other out was something both sides did very well in the opening ten minutes.   The scoreboard ws only altered once to register Eammon O’Gorman’s point for the saints.  As the first half went  on, the balance of power was slowly sliding the way of the Kilkenny school.  Each attack mustered by the Fermoy side ended with either a booming charge or clearance by Tennyson, or a deft catch and swift ball out of danger zone by Walsh.

While the coleman’s forwards were finding it hard to make the break through, the same could not be said for their opposite numbers.  Darren O’Neil put over a great point from inside his own half, before the returning Richie Power pointed a free form O’Shaughnessy found enough space to race through and slot over a point, but by that stage it looked like they were already chasing a lost cause.  Whatever hopes that Coleman’s had were soon gone when blood substitution Mark Cleary was sent off for a wreck less pull across Eammon O’Gorman.

The match was over at the start of the second.  John Murphy made a great solo run through the defence before laying off a nice pass to Eoin Reid who got past keeper Dennis Fitzgerald and neatly picked his spot in the net.  The gulf between the Maurice Nolan and Eoin Reid with the rebound.  By now the only thing left undecided was by how much Kieran’s would win by.  In the dying minutes, there were points for O’Shaughnessy and Paul Kearney, but a great point from the wing by Michael Bergin put the gloss on an incredible day for Kieran’s.

Back Row: Neil Prendergast, Shane Prendergast, Kevin Lanigan, Richie Power, David Prendergast, James Connolly, Eamon O’Gorman, Eoin Reid, Niall McEvoy, John Tennyson, Aidan Ryan, Mr. Tom Hogan (Trainer).

Middle Row: Mr. John Quane (Trainer), Patrick O’Flynn (Assistant), James O’Farrell, Philip Walsh, John Walsh, Patrick Butler, George Hickey, Patrick Hogan, Padraig Treacy, Michael Bergin, Mr. Art Anglin (Mentor), Mr. Ken Archbold (Trainer).

Front Row: Mark Alyward, Donnacha Cody, Jamie Quane, Damien Bergin, Darren O’Neill, James Fitzpatrick (Capt.), John Murphy, Maurice Nolan, Niall Fennelly, Willie Norton.

Absent From Photo: Richie Hogan.

Quick Links

Key Dates

Wednesday 25th
Staff Day (No school for students)
Thursday 26th
6th Years return to school at 8:50am
Thursday 26th
Induction for First Year students at 2pm
Friday 27th
Third and Fifth Year students return at 8:50am
Monday 30th
Second Year and Transition Year students return to school at 8:50am
Friday 3rd
Leaving Certificate Results
Friday 17th
Sports Day (To be confirmed)
Monday 11th
TY Work Experience Begins
Friday 22nd
Mid-Term Break Begins
Monday 1st
School Reopens after Mid-Term Break
Thursday 4th
LC Careers Information Evening (TBC)
Thursday 11th
Sixth Year P/T Meeting (TBC)

Please note: It may be necessary to reschedule some of the above times and dates. Please check back to this webpage throughout the year for confirmation of the most up to date information.

Key Dates

Please note: It may be necessary to reschedule some of the below times and dates. Please check the school website throughout the year for confirmation of the most up to date information.

Monday 2nd
School Closed (Bank Holiday)
Thursday May 5th
3rd Yr Parents Evening for TY
Friday 3rd
Summer holidays begin @1pm
Thursday 25th
Staff Day - No school for students
Friday 26th
6th Year students return to school at 8:50am
Friday 26th
1st Year Induction begins at 11am
Monday 29th
3rd & 5th Year students return at 8:50am
Tuesday 30th
2nd Years & Transition Year students return at 8:50am
Monday 17th - Friday 28th
TY Work Experience
Friday 28th
Midterm Break Begins at 1pm
Monday 7th
School reopens after Mid-Term Break at 8:50am
Thursday 10th
6th Year Careers Information Evening at 7pm
Thursday 17th
6th Year P/T meeting (4:15 -6:45pm)
Thursday 24th
3rd Year P/T Meeting (4:15 -6:45pm)
Friday 25th
Staff Training Day - No school for students
Monday 28th
JCT Cluster Day - No school for students
Thursday 8th
5th Year P/T Meeting (4:15 -6:45pm)
Wednesday 21st
Christmas Holidays begin at 1pm
Thursday 5th
School reopens after Christmas at 8:50am
Tuesday 12th
Subject Choice Meeting for 1st Year Parents
Thursday 19th
1st Year P/T Meeting (4:15-6:45pm)
Thursday 26th
2nd Year P/T Meeting (4:15-6:45pm)

Latest News

State Examinations 2022

Please click on the relevant links below for Junior and Leaving Certificate State Examination Timetables for 2022. The very best of luck to all of our Junior and Leaving Certificate students who are sitting State exams in June. Junior Cert Exam Timetable 2022 Leaving Cert Exam Timetable 2022

Read More

Musical – Grease

This year, our Transition Year students will perform the musical “Grease” in conjunction with the Presentation Secondary School from 27th – 30th April. We are very excited about the show! Best of luck to our teachers Mr Brennan, Mr Shiel and to everyone involved.

Read More

Virtual BT Young Scientist

2022 will bring much excitement for our budding Young Scientists who qualified for the annual BT Young Scientist Competition. This year, six groups have qualified from St Kieran’s College. Well done to Mr Hennessy for organising and to all our students for all of their hard work – Conor Fitzmaurice, Charlie Fitzgerald, John Davis, John […]

Read More