27 May 2020|General News

The academic year 2019-2020 was like no other in that on Thursday March 12th, schools across the country closed due to the Covid-19 pandemic and remained closed for the rest of that academic year. So much work had yet to be carried out. End of year rituals such as the Leaving Certificate graduation mass and the examinations themselves were all cancelled due to the  Health and Safety directives. Many competitions such as the Juvenile Hurling League never even got going. Class and team photos, usually taken in the Spring sunshine, could not be taken. The Leaving Certificate students did not get their LC Class Group photo. So much had still to be completed.

Despite all of this, we were able to hold an End of Year Awards ceremony of sorts. A virtual awards ceremony in nothing in comparison to presenting awards to students in person, but under the circumstances, it was all that could be done to acknowledge the numerous achievements and talents of our students which had been accomplished this year. These awards were presented on the St Kieran’s College Twitter Page from Monday 18th – Friday 22nd May punctuated by musical performances from a variety of students in a variety of musical genres. The following are the highlights of the Awards presented for 2019-2020:

A Special Award for our Transition Year photographers and videographers without whom we would have so few phots or videos for our archive:

Individual Awards

Well done to Brogan McAviney (Swimming), Senan Forristal (Canoeing), Shay McEvoy and David Williams (Running) – all who excelled in their chosen sport winning national titles

Shay McEvoy – represented Ireland in the European Cross Country Championships in Portugal

End of Year Awards: Last Sept 5th Year student Senan Forristal won the Liffey Descent Junior Mens K1 class A. This is a 32k Kayaking marathon from Straffan, Co Kildare to Islandbridge in Dublin. Last summer he won the U18 Sella Descent in Northern Spain.

Last summer Brogan McAviney won national swimming titles with Gold medals in the 50m & 100m Free / 200m Fly & 200m Free.

3rd Year student David Williams was selected to represent Ireland



National Poetry Aloud Competition

Well done to 3rd Year student Rory Farrell who won the Regional Poetry Aloud competition and went on to qualify for the All-Ireland final in The National Library last December.


Business Competition Award 

Transition Year students Kevin Molloy, Harry McIntyre, Adam O’Connor and Nick O’Keeffe who won the Regional final of the Bank of Ireland Money Smarts Challenge. The lads qualified for the All-Ireland final which was cancelled due to Covid-19

Maths Competitions

Our Junior Maths team Dáire Mahon, David Mulrooney, David Williams & Jamie McGrath narrowly missed out on the top spot following a tie-break in the IAMTA Regional Final. The Senior team Luke Hennessy, Eoin Morgan & David Delahunty also placed 2nd after a tie. Well done lads.


UCD Ad Astra Award 

Well done to Fionn Whelan who received the prestigious Ad Astra Award last February from UCD in recognition of his outstanding academic achievements. Fionn received the maximum 625 points in his LC 2019



U19 Badminton team Andrew Devereux, Patrick Phelan, Joe Cowhig and Nobin Rebi who won the County Finals and were runners up in Leinster.


Soccer Awards


Cross Country Running

The Michael Brannigan Memorial Cup is an annual 1 Mile race around the College Campus for First Year students. This year the race was won by Ruairí McEvoy, closely followed by Oisín Marry & Darragh Coverdale. All First Years took part. Great Fun.


Another fantastic year for the Cross Country Teams. Minors were South Leinster and Leinster Champions; Juniors were South Leinster Champions; Intermediates & Senior Teams were both South Leinster Champions 2nd in Leinster and 3rd in All-Irelands. Well done to everyone involved.



GAA Awards


Second Year students Cathal Buckley and John Hayes of Kells Handball Club won the U15 Schools Doubles Leinster Final last January. Well done lads.


Our Juvenile Football Team are South Leinster Champions. Well done to mentors Mr Windle and Mr Morgan and to all  the players involved.


First Year Hurling

One of the First Year Hurling teams won the Tom Walsh Memorial Hurling Trophy – an annual competition hosted by Good Counsel New Ross. Well done to this team and to all of the players involved in the First Year Hurling Leagues.

Juvenile Hurling 

Although the Juvenile Hurling Competition was cancelled this year due to school closures, the lads had played a couple of matches during which Second Year student Tim Kelly was outstanding. Well done to Tim, mentors Mr Lester Ryan and Mr Jonjo Farrell and to all the players involved.


Junior Hurling 

The Junior Hurlers had another successful year – Leinster Champions and finished All-Ireland Runners Up. Well done & thanks to mentors Mr Ruth & Mr Dowling and to all of the players and their families for all of your hard work this year.



Senior Hurling 

Alhough there was no silverware for the Senior Hurling Team as Leinster Runners-Up this year, the panel of 36 put in the very same effort as of those who have gone before. Well done & thanks to all members of the panel, to all the Transition Year helpers and especially to mentors Mr Hogan, Mr P Walsh & Mr M Walsh for all of their hard work put in.

The senior hurling panel for 2019-20 was (in alphabetical order): Liam Barron, Ciarán Brennan (Joint Captain), Patrick Brennan, Conor Brett, Kieran Buckley, Oisín Carroll, Tom Carroll, Darren Cuddihy, Peter Donohoe, Jack Doyle, Oisín Egan, Conor Fitzpatrick, Kevin Fitzpatrick, David Fogarty, Pádhraic Foley, David Galway, Eoin Guilfoyle, Jamie Harkin, Andy Hickey, Conor Kelly (Joint Captain), Cian Kenny, Stephen Keoghan, Tomás Leahy, Darragh Maher, Dara Mason, Peter McDonald, Pádraic Moylan, Ciarán Mullen, Aod O’Connor, Shaun O’keeffe, Ciarán Rice, Killian Rudkins, Jack Sheridan, Harry Shine, Denis Walsh, Harry Walsh.



Sports Star of The Year 

Our Sports Star of the Year Award is awarded in recognition of someone who has made an exceptional contribution to sport in the school. This year it goes to Sixth Year student Cian Kenny. Well done to Cian.


The White Medal

The White Medal recognises someone who has demonstrated academic and extra-curricular excellence. This year the award goes to 6th Year student Ciarán Brennan. Well done to Ciarán and we wish you continued success in your studies & in sport.


The President’s Award

The President’s Award recognises someone who best embodies the spirit of St Kieran’s – this year the recipient, Shay McEvoy, is chosen not for his own sporting excellence but for his contribution to always supporting and encouraging others – leading the team. Well done Shay.


Awards of Merit 2020

At our Awards Ceremony each year, we name a Student of the Year for each year group recognising all round excellence. Very close runners-up receive a Merit Award. Well done to all of our Merit award Winners in each of the Year Groups as follows:



Finally, huge congratulations to our overall Students of the Year for each Year Group who are as follows:



Well done to all of the musicians who took part in our virtual Awards ceremony: (all of their performances can be viewed on our Twitter page @KieransCollege)

The Jazz Band

The Trad Band

The Junior and Senior Choir

The Chamber Choir

DJ Delaney

JJ Ryan

David O’Sullivan

Bill Kavanagh